Skip to main contentNashville Area MPO
about the MPO

What's a Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO)? Established through federal legislation, MPOs exist throughout the U.S. in urbanized areas of more than 50,000 people. Comprised of representatives from local, state, and federal government agencies, they are responsible for planning and prioritizing projects for federal funds.

The Transportation Planning Process– A Briefing Bookpdf
Executive Overview of the Metropolitan Planning Processvideo
More about MPOs at AMPOnew window


the Nashville Area MPO

Our Mission

The Nashville Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) is committed to providing leadership to the region in the planning, funding, and development of a regional multi-modal transportation system; one that promotes personal and social economic prosperity while encouraging sustainable growth and development practices to protect and preserve valuable community and natural assets.


map of Authority regionThe Nashville Area MPO is the federally-designated transportation planning agency for over 2800 square miles and more than 1.5 million people throughout Davidson, Rutherford, Sumner, Williamson, Wilson and parts of Maury and Robertson counties.

Serving as a regional partnership among the United States Department of Transportation, Tennessee Department of Transportation, transit agencies, local elected leadership, local planning and public works directors, the business community, and citizens across the five-plus county planning area, the MPO leads in the development of the region's long-range transportation plan and short-range Transportation Improvement Program and contributes to ongoing conversations about issues such as land use, economic development, climate change and the environment, safety and security, and health.

The MPO has the authority to plan, prioritize, and select transportation projects for federal funding appropriated by the United States Congress through the United States Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration and Federal Transit Administration; and is responsible to for ensuring the region is in compliance with federal planning requirements and national ambient air quality standards.

Agency Structure

The Nashville Area MPO is comprised of an Executive Board, a Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC), and Staff.

The Executive Board consists of elected officials representing Davidson, Rutherford, Sumner, Wilson, Williamson and parts of Maury (Spring Hill) and Robertson (Springfield) counties, as well as cities in those counties with a population of over 5,000. Additional board members include the Governor and an elected official from the Greater Nashville Regional Council. The Board provides policy direction and a forum for transportation and air quality decisions. The Board meets as needed to approve major planning reports and documents.

The Technical Coordinating Committee consists of administrators, planning directors, and transportation engineers from local governments and transportation related agencies. The basic responsibilities of the TCC include collaborating with staff to provide recommendations to the Executive Board in the development of regional transportation plans and programs.

The MPO Staff provides professional transportation planning services and ongoing administration of planning projects to the entire region. Staff is managed by an Executive Director who reports to the Executive Board.


The MPO is funded by federal grant programs authorized by the U.S. Congress and by contributions from the Tennessee DOT and local government members.

For more information about funding for planning activities, visit the Unified Planning Work Program.

For more information about funding for roads, bridges, transit, and walking and bicycling facilities, visit the Transportation Improvement Program.

Regional Partners

TDOT Greater Nashville Regional Council RTA Relax & Ride: Music City Star
Metropolitan Transit Authority Mid-Cumberland Hunan Resource Agency Clarksville Urbanized Area Rover
Clarksville Transit System Franklin Transit Authority Tennessee Public Transportation Association
Cumberland Region Tomorrow: Collaborative Action for Quality Growth Nashville Civic Design The Power of Ten

National Partners

Transportation Research Board of the National Acadmies United States Environmental Protection Agency Federal Transit Administration
AMPO American Planning Association Institute of Transportation Engineers
American Public Transportation Association


mpo offices

Nashville Area MPO
800 Second Avenue South
Nashville, Tennessee 37210 (MAP)

USPS Mailing Address:
800 Second Avenue South
PO Box 196300
Nashville, Tennessee 37219-6300

Package Delivery Address:
800 Second Avenue South
Nashville, Tennessee 37210

Phone: 615-862-7204
Fax: 615-880-2450

stay involved

follow ussocial networking icons linkedin youtube flickr facebook twitter